Amulet

Amulet

Book 1, The Stonekeeper

Book - 2008
Average Rating:
Rate this:

Comments (106)

Add a Comment
a
aasang
Jul 11, 2020

i love this book a lot since I first read it

p
penelopegomez
Sep 13, 2019

Was this book bad? No, it just wasn't for me... If you like scary gross monsters, you will probably like this book.This book is full of weird monsters and friendly robots. There is also magic and danger, etc. ...I just felt like there was way too much going on in this book. For example in the very beginning of the book Emily's father dies, then we fast forward two years and Emily and her family move into a new home. Right away there's an issue of her mom being kidnapped by monsters. This book literally introduces you to Magic, then monsters... okay... but then the author was like 'that's not good enough, let me throw in a talking bunny!... hmm still not enough lets throw in Robots... this plot isn't weird enough lets throw in flying cars and robot houses that walk around!' Literally this author had enough ideas for 6 different books but then decided to cram them all together into one. This book just had too much going on for me. It is a series, so if this author managed to cram so much into book 1, like what is even left for the rest of the series??! I might read more just to see what else this author can invent! I will say this book just wasn't for me ... but this book is also probably meant for like 9 year old boys to read. If i was a 9 year old boy I probably would have been like, "THIS BOOK IS AWESOME!" There was always something new to grab my attention, and there was definitely never a dull moment in this book.

w
white_cheetah_205
Aug 27, 2019

Mostly everybody here says its a great series, but it has some things maybe not for 5-9yos?
I'm a 13yo consumer and I think its fair to say that this series has peril, some bloody bits, and scary creatures (at times showing their innards and gross saliva). So in short, expect fantasy violence. The protagonist is a shallow build of a character's personality, and things like this make me want to just break into the book, and tell them what the heck is going on! The drawings are very high quality, so is the writing, but some of the main people just annoy me...
Emily (the protagonist) just takes matters in to her hands a bit too much, and is just plain stubborn.
Again though, I love the book! Just a heads-up for parents.

e
erinkrivitwilson1
Jul 31, 2019

I read these books with my 7 year old and he loves them! The graphics are stellar!

r
RebelBelle13
Apr 09, 2019

I was truly surprised how much I liked this graphic novel. I'm typically not drawn to middle-grade, with certain exceptions. I volunteer in my son's elementary school library from time to time, and this series is constantly being borrowed by the kids, and they are always telling me how good the series is. It was enthralling, emotional, and beautifully done. I love how you are dumped right into the story- you hit the ground running. There's hardly any exposition, and it's completely a "fish-out-of-water" fantasy story. The protagonists are little young, but I suppose that's meant to draw younger readers in. The story flows nicely, the panels are easy to follow and the characters are endearing. I was so engaged, and before I knew it, the story was over. I'm eager to dive right into the next one!

t
TEENREVIEWBOARD
Nov 01, 2018

In the previous book, Emily’s mother was stabbed by an arachnopod before she was freed. This caused her to enter a coma because she got poisoned, and the antidote can only be found in the city of Kanalis. Once arriving at the city, Emily struggles to maintain full control of the stone, as it wants full control of her, all while she is hunted by Elves during her quest to retrieve the antidote; a fruit from future-telling trees. I would personally rate this book a 4/5. There is a lot of suspense throughout the book about whether or not Emily will give the amulet full control over her to help her defeat the elves that are following her, which could result in deadly consequences to not just the elves, and suspense whether or not Emily will be successful in curing her mother. This all together creates a good book, with fantastic drawings.
@Aylos of the Teen Review Board at the Hamilton Public Library

t
TEENREVIEWBOARD
Nov 01, 2018

Two years after the death of Emily’s father, her, her brother, and her mother move to an old house that has been in their family for decades. During their first night at this mysterious house, Emily founds a necklace that holds great powers that when used correctly, may even be able to turn back time. With this great power comes great consequences, as soon learned by Emily. After reading the first book of the Amulet series, I would personally rate it 3/5. The story starts off nice with an entertaining plot that will capture you, making you want to read the whole book in one go, but since this is the first book of a series with 9 other books, it starts off slow with long explanations due to the introduction of a lot of new characters. This may make you bored, but it may also set up the series to possibly be one of the greatest graphic novel series for young children today.
@Aylos of the Teen Review Board at the Hamilton Public Library

l
leileileeculham
Aug 26, 2018

Amulet is pretty good! It is not one of the best comic books I've read but I will read it if it's in front of me!

k
kentaokochi
Jul 04, 2018

I love this book because it is adventures. Emily is also training with the amulet.

w
wildct2003
Jun 30, 2018

Enjoyable part 2, quick read.

w
wildct2003
May 30, 2018

Very entertaining, very fast read. Ready for Book 2!

r
red_panda_3511
May 23, 2018

Awesome book!!!!!!! A little sad but otherwise really good.
Emily is hardworking and kind.
READ THIS BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

h
HUDSONCOLEROBINSON
Jan 03, 2018

Read the first and third. Really good book and strongly recommended. I love it!!

GeeksInTheLibrary Oct 17, 2017

A sweeping epic series following Emily and Navin as they try to rescue their mother from a dangerous realm underneath their grandmother's house. Good for fans of Neil Gaiman's Coraline and C.S. Lewis's Chronicles of Narnia.

g
gloriachushaoli
Sep 24, 2017

This book is a great book for anyone who is not scared of creepy monsters (~.~)

a
Allison5560
Aug 02, 2017

Sad start, intriguing ending. A good series, but will keep you extremely anticipated.

f
finnspreter
Apr 23, 2017

it is a great book but i don't get some parts!

w
Warren1213
Apr 05, 2017

don't forget to dab

ArapahoeWinnie Dec 12, 2016

Wasn't expecting to like this, but I did! I got sucked in right from the beginning and have requested the rest in the series. Great all-ages graphic novel.

e
Ezrap9
Dec 09, 2016

Looks good. Placed a hold now it's just waiting. My friend has this graphic novel and he told me about so I kind of know what it is about

r
ResidentEvilFanboy
Dec 08, 2016

Just gotten this book for my birthday from a friend and its amazing Kazu Kibuishi is a mastermind when it comes to storytelling. I have read this series when I was 9 or 10 but I still remember the second book GG Kazu!

j
joshua7279
Oct 09, 2016

First I have to say for an "all ages" graphic novel this one is very good. The beginning was rather cliché for me, but after they get past the opening things jump right into adventure mode. The characters are fun and interesting, especially all of her grandfather's assistants, who I can't wait to see more of. The story is fun and well done. I can't wait to dig into volume 2 to figure out what crazy adventures await in this crazy new world they have discovered.

p
pillowbox
Sep 12, 2016

I am an 8.5 years old boy and I want to recommend Amulet 1. This is an awesome book. I couldn't stop reading it. I really think you should read it!!!

rtalps Sep 12, 2016

Everything changes when Emily and Navin's father dies in a tragic car accident. The siblings and their mother move to their grandfather's house, one missing and thought to be dead for many years. The house, it turns out, has its own secrets and stories to tell. Emily and her brother journey into a new world in an effort to save their mother and keep their family together. A great start to a fantasy series that kept me hooked! The drawings are beautiful and imaginative -- the author/illustrator really draws you into this strange world.

r
RogueJen
Aug 31, 2016

Kibuishi continues with beautiful art and an interesting story. It was hard to buy in to the mother's reaction to the new world ("I guess this is our new home," she says, not seeming phased by it at all), but loved watching the kids' story unfold.


1-25 of 106 items

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top