THE QUEEN OF ATTOLIA

THE QUEEN OF ATTOLIA

Book
Average Rating:
Rate this:
14
4
3
 …

Discover the world of the Queen's Thief

New York Times-bestselling author Megan Whalen Turner's entrancing and award-winning Queen's Thief novels bring to life the world of the epics and feature one of the most charismatic and incorrigible characters of fiction, Eugenides the thief. Megan Whalen Turner's Queen's Thief novels are rich with political machinations and intrigue, battles lost and won, dangerous journeys, divine intervention, power, passion, revenge, and deception. Perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo, Marie Lu, Patrick Rothfuss, and George R. R. Martin.

The brilliant thief Eugenides has visited the Queen of Attolia's palace one too many times, leaving small tokens and then departing unseen. When his final excursion does not go as planned, he is captured by the ruthless queen. The Queen's Thief novels have been praised by writers, critics, reviewers, and fans and have been honored with glowing reviews, "best of" citations, and numerous awards, including the Los Angeles Times Book Prize, a Newbery Honor, the Andre Norton Award shortlist, and the Mythopoeic Fantasy Award. Discover and rediscover the stand-alone companions, The Queen of Attolia, The King of Attolia, A Conspiracy of Kings, and Thick as Thieves, all epic novels set in the world of the Queen's Thief.

A Booklist Top 10 Fantasy Books for Youth

ALA Popular Paperbacks for Young Adults

A New York Public Library Book for the Teen Age

Parent's Choice Gold Award

A Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books Blue Ribbon Book

"The Queen's Thief books awe and inspire me. They have the feel of a secret, discovered history of real but forgotten lands. The plot-craft is peerless, the revelations stunning, and the characters flawed, cunning, heartbreaking, exceptional. Megan Whalen Turner's books have a permanent spot on my favorites shelf, with space waiting for more books to come."--Laini Taylor, New York Times-bestselling author of the Daughter of Smoke and Bone novels and Strange the Dreamer

"Unforgettable characters, plot twists that will make your head spin, a world rendered in elegant detail--you will fall in love with every page of these stories. Megan Whalen Turner writes vivid, immersive, heartbreaking fantasy that will leave you desperate to return to Attolia again and again."--Leigh Bardugo, New York Times-bestselling author of the The Grisha Trilogy and Six of Crows

"Megan Whalen Turner proves to be one of the brightest creative talents. With each book, she continues to add new levels and new luster to her sparkling imagination."--Lloyd Alexander, Newbery Medalist and National Book Award-winning author of The Chronicles of Prydain

"Readers will be spellbound."--Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

"Turner's storytelling is so sure that readers will want to go along with her--and discover whatever it is that Eugenides will do next."--Publishers Weekly (starred review)

"[An] intense read . . . thoroughly involving and wholly satisfying on all fronts."--The Horn Book (starred review)

ISBN: 9780060841829
Branch Call Number: PBJ TEEN TUR

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
k
KJW_27
Mar 07, 2020

Excellent follow-up to “The Thief!” Chock full of subtlety, political machinations, and surprising love.

This one IS a bit of a tone shift from “The Thief,” comparable with the tone shift between “Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban” and “Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire.”

FPL_ElizabethC Feb 10, 2020

Three countries under threat. Two queens determined to protect their people. One man whose actions can't be anticipated. Can you guess where conflicting loyalty, leadership, and love will lead?

For the best reading experience, begin with The Thief.

h
happycanuck
Dec 07, 2019

The first third of the book was good but didn't seem as interesting as the previous book. Then... the plot got better and better!!!
No problem to give it a 5 * rating !

IndyPL_SteveB Mar 04, 2019

A sequel to the excellent *The Thief* -- and this is even better. Here the focus shifts to the court of Attolia, where the young but tough-minded queen has a tenuous hold on power. Some of her barons are plotting against her and she also has to deal with representatives of the Medes, a high-powered outside military force, hoping to encourage the three small countries to weaken each other enough so the Mede forces can take over all three. An additional complication comes from Eugenides. Still a “thief” in some sense, he has been sent by the Queen of Eddis to spy on Attolia. In the process of spying, he develops an inconvenient crush on the Queen of Attolia – especially inconvenient when he is caught spying and subjected to torture at the order of the Queen.

Just like the first book, the plotting is exciting, the characters are absorbing, and the tension is forehead-sweat-producing. In addition, Turner’s themes of political intrigue, the responsibilities of power, and the near-impossibility of love between rivals leave a lasting impression. Like many fantasy series, these were published as juvenile books but are equally exciting for teens and adults.

t
Tabaqui
Apr 15, 2017

These books are amazing! I can never see the plot twist coming. Never! Seriously, though, these books are some of the most interesting and riveting stories I've read lately. A definite recommendation for anyone 12 and up.

n
nidofito
Mar 27, 2016

Pure perfection, this book.

The writing flows smoothly, the story intense with multiple twists, amazing characters, great female rules, and full of wonderful descriptions for war, history and mythology buffs. If you like books like Graceling, I assure you, this is so much better.

gogirl1313 Mar 23, 2015

Loved it! It's every bit as richly complex and satisfying as before, if still a little confusing. I've fallen in love with the series and can't wait to read the next book.

g
GuyN
Feb 17, 2015

After a slow and rather grim start the pace picks up and we get involved in the shifting sands of local politics. Our hero is actually more of a mountebank than a thief, but his ingenuity in playing the game of thrones is intriguing, as are the two queens he deals with. A map, as andreareads suggests, would be most helpful, but one can follow the sudden twists and turns that pile up at the end. While not extraordinary, this book can be a fun and easy read. I didn't read its predecessor and had no trouble catching up to the story. This is light fare, but interesting enough for an adult to read through.

j
julia_sedai
Feb 17, 2014

I loved this book as it was realistic and much more than a romance. Eugenides' punishment was perfect. I mean, I felt bad for him, but it was such a good way to grow the character of Eugenides as well as the Queen of Attolia. The politics are intriguing. Turner does a fantastic job. The characters are great - I like them all. I am excited to read the rest of the series.

JCLChrisK Dec 24, 2013

Not knowing a thing about the story of The Queen of Attolia, I thought, based on the title, it might shift the story to her perspective and make her a more sympathetic, major character than she had been in the first book. Imagine my surprise, then, when this started with her still as a minor character and villain who captures and injures the thief, with a solid portion of what follows focusing on his convalescence. It hardly seemed "less boring" than the original and in fact seemed less adventurous.
-----
Yet it was no less enthralling. This one shifts to a third-person perspective after the first book's first-person narrative, but that works because the scale of the story has shifted. Where that one is an intimate, character-focused adventure, this one is about international war and political maneuverings. A "game of thrones," if you will, with monarchs and their courts and militaries doing everything they can to shift the balance of power in their directions. The action is still centered on the thief, but his role in events is much different and larger. The intrigue, suspense, and character building didn't disappoint in the least.
-----
This is a wonderful, meticulously written series (a new one, on average, every five years), and I can't wait to get to the next one.

View All Comments

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability
b
blue_dog_8329
Jan 27, 2018

blue_dog_8329 thinks this title is suitable for 12 years and over

b
Benvolia
Dec 02, 2016

Benvolia thinks this title is suitable for 14 years and over

blue_fish_72 Jun 18, 2013

blue_fish_72 thinks this title is suitable for 9 years and over

b
burritoofradness
Apr 11, 2013

burritoofradness thinks this title is suitable for 14 years and over

Quotes

Add a Quote
a
andreareads
Oct 13, 2011

One does not refuse a goddess.

a
andreareads
Oct 13, 2011

I was afraid. I couldn't just sit here being afraid and doing nothing about it.

a
andreareads
Oct 13, 2011

Attolians did not invest much belief in their religion. They dutifully attended temple festivals and used their gods for cursing and little else.

Notices

Add Notices
b
burritoofradness
Apr 11, 2013

Coarse Language: It's slight, but it's there.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

  Loading...

Find it at WVML

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top