The Canterbury Sisters

The Canterbury Sisters

Book - 2015
Average Rating:
2
Rate this:
In the vein of Jojo Moyes and Cheryl Strayed's Wild , a warm and touching novel about a woman who embarks on a pilgrimage to Canterbury Cathedral after losing her mother, sharing life lessons--in the best Chaucer tradition--with eight other women along the way, from the author of the upcoming novel Last Ride to Graceland .

Che Milan's life is falling apart. Not only has her longtime lover abruptly dumped her, but her eccentric, demanding mother has recently died. When an urn of ashes arrives, along with a note reminding Che of a half-forgotten promise to take her mother to Canterbury, Che finds herself reluctantly undertaking a pilgrimage.

Within days she joins a group of women who are walking the sixty miles from London to the shrine of Becket in Canterbury Cathedral, reputed to be the site of miracles. In the best Chaucer tradition, the women swap stories as they walk, each vying to see who can best describe true love. Che, who is a perfectionist and workaholic, loses her cell phone at the first stop and is forced to slow down and really notice the world around her, perhaps for the first time in years.

Through her adventures along the trail, Che finds herself opening up to new possibilities in life and discovers that the miracles of Canterbury can take surprising forms.
Publisher: New York :, Gallery Books,, 2015
Edition: First Gallery Books trade paperback edition
ISBN: 9781501100765
Branch Call Number: FICTION WRI
Characteristics: 316 pages ; 21 cm
Alternative Title: Staff picks

Opinion

From Library Staff

List - Beach Reads 2016
WVMLlibrarian Jul 12, 2016

Che’s mother’s dying wish is for Che to follow up on a promise to visit Canterbury. She embarks on a pilgrimage, walking the 60 miles from London to her destination, and connects with a group of eight other women whom swap stories in the style of Chaucer narratives. This is a tale about friendshi... Read More »

Chi Milan reluctantly decides to fulfill her promise to her recently deceased mother by taking her mother’s ashes to Canterbury. She joins a group of women called The Broads Abroad who are walking the sixty miles from London to the shrine of Becket in Canterbury Cathedral, reputed to be the site... Read More »

Chi Milan reluctantly decides to fulfill her promise to her recently deceased mother by taking her mother’s ashes to Canterbury. She joins a group of women called The Broads Abroad who are walking the sixty miles from London to the shrine of Becket in Canterbury Cathedral, reputed to be the site... Read More »


From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

h
hey44
Oct 21, 2015

Right from the start, there was something that irritated me about this story. I found the tone rather glib and superficial, and although I did finish the book, I never did come to like or sympathize with the main character, who I thought came across as very self-centred, judgmental and narcissistic. I did like the concept of the story - the pilgrimmage, although it wasn't particularly well fleshed out, and I never got any sense of the landscape the "pilgrims" were passing through. I did not find the characters to be well developed, especially the main character, who seemed to carrying on an extended pity party, even though she managed to always have everything be about her, while the other characters not only faded into the background, but were deemed to be too flawed for our main gal. Perhaps if the story had more depth and been more believable I would have found it more palatable.

In short, it is an ok read as long as you keep your expectations low.

1
1_Great_Book
Aug 20, 2015

outstanding chronicling of a modern pilgrimage - just the right dose of Chaucer background and character background. Well done!

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at WVML

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top