The Story of British Classical Music

The Story of British Classical Music

Streaming Music - 2006
Rate this:
"The story of British classical music is long, rich... and patchy. It embraces major composers of world stature such as John Dunstable, William Byrd, Henry Purcell, Edward Elgar, Ralph Vaughan Williams and Benjamin Britten. Just as important, it also embraces a couple of periods of intense creativity peopled by a host of figures all making their own distinctive and enjoyable contributions. But it contains, too, long strecthes in which for varying reasons - including the premature death or decline of promising talents, as well as the dominance of charismatic visitors - native British composers seemed to have little of lasting importance to offer."--Introduction.
Publisher: [Munich, Germany?] : Naxos, 2006
Branch Call Number: Internet
Alternative Title: Naxos Music Library


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further


Subject Headings


Find it at WVML

To Top