Krazy

Krazy

George Herriman, A Life in Black and White

Book - 2016
Average Rating:
1
Rate this:

WINNER OF THE EISNER AWARD FOR BEST COMICS-RELATED BOOK

FINALIST FOR THE NBCC AWARD IN BIOGRAPHY

FINALIST FOR THE PEN/JACQUELINE BOGRAD WELD AWARD FOR BIOGRAPHY

In the tradition of Schulz and Peanuts, an epic and revelatory biography of Krazy Kat creator George Herriman that explores the turbulent time and place from which he emerged--and the deep secret he explored through his art.

The creator of the greatest comic strip in history finally gets his due--in an eye-opening biography that lays bare the truth about his art, his heritage, and his life on America's color line. A native of nineteenth-century New Orleans, George Herriman came of age as an illustrator, journalist, and cartoonist in the boomtown of Los Angeles and the wild metropolis of New York. Appearing in the biggest newspapers of the early twentieth century--including those owned by William Randolph Hearst--Herriman's Krazy Kat cartoons quickly propelled him to fame. Although fitfully popular with readers of the period, his work has been widely credited with elevating cartoons from daily amusements to anarchic art.

Herriman used his work to explore the human condition, creating a modernist fantasia that was inspired by the landscapes he discovered in his travels--from chaotic urban life to the Beckett-like desert vistas of the Southwest. Yet underlying his own life--and often emerging from the contours of his very public art--was a very private secret: known as "the Greek" for his swarthy complexion and curly hair, Herriman was actually African American, born to a prominent Creole family that hid its racial identity in the dangerous days of Reconstruction.

Drawing on exhaustive original research into Herriman's family history, interviews with surviving friends and family, and deep analysis of the artist's work and surviving written records, Michael Tisserand brings this little-understood figure to vivid life, paying homage to a visionary artist who helped shape modern culture.

Publisher: New York, NY :, Harper, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers,, [2016]
Edition: First edition
ISBN: 9780061732997
Branch Call Number: 921 H566
Characteristics: viii, 545 pages, 16 unnumbered pages of plates : illustrations ; 24 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

m
Mitzi352
May 10, 2017

Herriman lived at a fascinating time - early 1900's. The people he came into contact with made for an interesting life as well as interesting read. As much as i found Herriman charming and endearing, I ended up loving Krazy the most.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at WVML

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top