Behind Her Eyes

Behind Her Eyes

A Novel

eBook - 2017
Average Rating:
Rate this:
52
"Only two can keep a secret if one of them is dead. David and Adele seem like the ideal pair. He's a successful psychiatrist, she is his picture-perfect wife who adores him. But why is he so controlling? And why is she keeping things hidden? As Louise, David's new secretary, is drawn into their orbit, she uncovers more puzzling questions than answers. The only thing that is crystal clear is that something in this marriage is very, very wrong. But Louise can't guess how wrong--and how far a person might go to protect their marriage's secrets. "--
"Destined to the blockbuster book of 2017, Behind Her Eyes is a psychological thriller with a to-die-for twist for fans of Luckiest Girl Alive and Stephen King"--
Publisher: New York :, Flatiron Books,, 2017
Edition: First U.S. edition
ISBN: 9781250111180
1250111188
9780008131982
0008131988
9781250111173
125011117X
9781250141316
Branch Call Number: e-book
Characteristics: 1 online resource (306 pages)
Alternative Title: Library2Go

Opinion

From Library Staff

Louise feels like she’s starring in a bad romantic comedy until she secretly befriends her new lover’s wife and becomes deeply enmeshed in a love triangle thick with alarming secrets and lies. An unusual thriller with a super surprise twist that will make you want to start reading again from the ... Read More »


From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
h
herlz
Jul 27, 2020

Wow I thought I knew how the book was going to end but boy was I wrong. Mind blower.

c
Cidherman
Jul 17, 2020

This book practically defines the term "Psychological Thriller"; it does both extremely well.
Reviewed in the United States on June 24, 2020
What an intense, unusual and trippy book!! BEHIND HER EYES is a truly original story. The slow burn reveal and the intense likeable characters are extremely well written. The author manages to switch viewpoints, and even time lines, sometimes mid- scene without ever losing the reader or creating confusion, as to who is speaking and whether events are taking place in the past or present. This is no small feat, which becomes clearer and clearer, as the story progresses.

BEHIND HER EYES is a creepy story with a very contemporary feel. It only has 6 characters: only three are significant, and only 2 narrate the bulk of the story. The story is completely centered around a love triangle and the two women involved with David, who is married to one of them.

There are secrets hete, well beyond what is normal for a love triangle, even one that involves a loyal Wife and "The Other Woman". What ads to the interest is that in this case, the man at the center of the triangle is even more in the dark about the developing relationship, than either of the two women. It is definitely an intense ride and I recommend BEHIND HER EYES.

If i had to give one criticism, it would be that i think the book was a little bit longer than it needed to be. I think paring it down would ramp up the intensity and add to the excitement.

This book practically defines a "psychological thriller"; it does both extremely well.

harperandharpist Jun 11, 2020

The ending still creeps me out.

j
jelianm
Mar 11, 2020

I can see why the ending for some people is very polarizing! It was for me haha.

Overall I really enjoyed this book. I’m a fairly new psychological thriller reader and this book has definitely ignited a newfound love for this particular genre. I found it really hard to put the book down! I would definitely recommend this book though.

Unforgettable ending that will haunt you for weeks.

j
janetkabatoff
Aug 29, 2019

Love triangle. David Louise &
Crazy twist at the end
Psychologist
Dreams going thru doors

1
1MTWAIN60
Jul 22, 2019

Characters with out of body abilities. Written well enough and the plot moves along reasonably fast, which is why I gave it three stars, but . . . .

An awful ending. Quit reading two or three chapters before the end. Just quit.

e
Eil_1
Jun 09, 2019

An amazingly confusing psychological thriller. The story could be compared to watching a loom weaving something vague and unknown. It goes on until the end when the dots meet each other. I was completely surprised at the ending, and had to review it a second time to ensure that I understood the full plot.

IndyPL_BethanyA May 28, 2019

Behind Her Eyes was a fast-paced psychological thriller that had me guessing until the very last page. I could not believe the twist at the end! If you liked The Wife Between Us or An Anonymous Girl by Greer Hendricks and Sarah Pekkanen, you'll love Behind Her Eyes.

a
AdelaM
Apr 04, 2019

Loved it. Wonderful twist at the end.

View All Comments

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at WVML

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top