The Queen's Accomplice

The Queen's Accomplice

Maggie Hope Series, Book 6

eBook - 2016
Average Rating:
1
Rate this:
Spy and code-breaker extraordinaire Maggie Hope returns to war-weary London, where she is thrust into the dangerous hunt for a monster, as the New York Times bestselling mystery series for fans of Jacqueline Winspear, Charles Todd, and Anne Perry continues. England, 1942. The Nazis' relentless Blitz may have paused, but London's nightly blackouts continue. Now, under the cover of darkness, a madman is brutally killing and mutilating young women in eerie and exact re-creations of Jack the Ripper's crimes. What's more, he's targeting women who are reporting for duty to be Winston Churchill's spies and saboteurs abroad. The officers at MI-5 quickly realize they need the help of special agent Maggie Hope to find the killer dubbed "the Blackout Beast." A trap is set. But once the murderer has his sights on Maggie, not even Buckingham Palace can protect the resourceful spy from her fate.Praise for The Queen's Accomplice"Maggie is a thoughtful spy whose dangerous escapades never disappoint."—Kirkus Reviews "A fine historical mystery given a feminist slant."—Booklist "Plausible and elegant . . . Like all MacNeal's novels, this one ends on a cliffhanger that will leave readers eagerly awaiting Maggie's next adventure."—Shelf Awareness "Works as a suspenseful stand-alone . . . interesting and informative . . . wartime London is vividly portrayed . . . recommended for those who like their historical mysteries with a large dose of suspense."—Historical Novel Society "For those who are Maggie Hope diehards, this latest in the series is sure to satisfy."—Reviewing the Evidence "MacNeal's meticulous research shines through on every page, and pays off with a wartime atmosphere that feels real."—Crimespree Magazine
Publisher: 2016
ISBN: 9780804178730
Branch Call Number: e-book
Characteristics: 1 online resource
Alternative Title: Library2Go

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

r
RCHscc
Dec 24, 2016

The sixth novel in the Maggie Hope series. It's England in 1942. Maggie has just returned from the US where she went with Winston Churchill to see President Roosevelt. She is working at the SOE offices while she awaits her next assignment. She is drawn into the city wide investigation of a serial murderer, the so-nick named Blackout Beast. The murderer is targeting young women who work for the SOE, some of whom Maggie has helped train. She uses her mathematical skills once again to help track down the killer. I'm looking forward to the next instalment. Once again, the author lets us have a glimpse into the next story before this one ends.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at WVML

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top