Three Souls

Three Souls

eBook - 2013
Average Rating:
5
Rate this:
A finalist for the Ethel Wilson Fiction PrizeA dazzling historical-fiction debut perfect for readers of Amy Tan and Lisa SeeCivil war China is fractured by social and political change. Behind the magnificent gates of the Song family estate, however, none of this upheaval has touched Leiyin, a spoiled and idealistic teenager. But when Leiyin meets the captivating left-wing poet Hanchin, she defies her father and learns a harsh reality: that her father has the power to dictate her fate. Leiyin's punishment for disobedience leads to exile from her family, an unwanted marriage and ultimately a lover's betrayal—followed by her untimely death. Now a ghost, Leiyin must make amends to earn entry to the afterlife. But when her young daughter faces a dangerous future, Leiyin has to make a heart-wrenching choice.
Publisher: 2013
ISBN: 9781443423922
Branch Call Number: e-book
Characteristics: 1 online resource
Alternative Title: Library2Go

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

w
Winnipeg1
Sep 07, 2016

Great on setting, plot & character. Couldn't put it down. The narrator is a young ghost telling her own story. First novel by a Vancouver writer, waiting eagerly for her next one. Highly recommended.

b
becker
Feb 21, 2015

A very nice story about a woman who has to make amends in death for mistakes she made in life. This is a well crafted book and enjoyable to read. It would make a good choice for those of you who belong to book clubs.

m
mimitabby
Mar 18, 2014

what a great story! very cleverly written book, I could not put it down..

m
mimitabby
Mar 18, 2014

I loved this book, cleverly woven tale...recommend!

n
nannerl
Dec 27, 2013

This is one of the best novels I've read in 2013. Reminded me a lot of the Chinese classic 'Story of the Stone'.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at WVML

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top