DEATH BELOW STAIRS

DEATH BELOW STAIRS

Book
Average Rating:
2
Rate this:
Highly sought-after young cook Kat Holloway takes a position in a Mayfair mansion and soon finds herself immersed in the odd household of Lord Rankin. Kat is fine with the family's eccentricities as long as they stay away from her kitchen, but trouble finds its way below stairs when her assistant is murdered. Afraid for her life, Kat turns to the mysterious Daniel McAdam for help. Daniel takes a position in the house as a footman and stand-in valet so he can investigate covertly, but Kat cooks up a suspect list of her own.
ISBN: 9780399585517
Branch Call Number: PB MYSTERY ASH

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

s
StoryAddict
Feb 16, 2018

Great sense of place (Victorian London). Well-drawn and intriguing main characters, even if, particularly the women, are unusually independent and/or eccentric for their era. Steadily advancing plot with good dialogue. A murder, a political plot, a bit of romance, and a little menu chatter for foodies. Readers who enjoy 'Upstairs Downstairs' and 'Downton Abbey' will likely gobble this title and look forward to the next in the series.

d
deependgirl
Feb 04, 2018

Great first book of a series! Highly recommend especially if you enjoy mysteries set in the Victorian era. I love that it’s a “upstairs downstairs” theme and also that our amateur detective is a cook! I have enjoyed many aristocratic upperclass rich ladies and gentlemen regency and Victorian era mysteries... it’s a very good idea to make this mostly the downstairs world. Bit of a switch that makes sense and refreshing. I can’t wait to read the next book.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

  Loading...

Find it at WVML

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top