Little Darlings

Little Darlings

A Novel

eBook - 2019
Average Rating:
Rate this:
5
"Unforgettable."—The New York Times"Lyrical and atmospheric." —Bustle"A satiating psychological horror tale." —Cultured VulturesSOON TO BE A MAJOR MOTION PICTUREAPRIL 2019 LIBRARY READS PICK"Mother knows best" takes on a sinister new meaning in this unsettling thriller perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman, Grimms' Fairy Tales, and Aimee Molloy's The Perfect Mother.Everyone says Lauren Tranter is exhausted, that she needs rest. And they're right; with newborn twins, Morgan and Riley, she's never been more tired in her life. But she knows what she saw: that night, in her hospital room, a woman tried to take her babies and replace them with her own...creatures. Yet when the police arrived, they saw no one. Everyone, from her doctor to her husband, thinks she's imagining things.A month passes. And one bright summer morning, the babies disappear from Lauren's side in a park. But when they're found, something is different about them. The infants look like Morgan and Riley—to everyone else. But to Lauren, something is off. As everyone around her celebrates their return, Lauren begins to scream, These are not my babies.Determined to bring her true infant sons home, Lauren will risk the unthinkable. But if she's wrong about what she saw...she'll be making the biggest mistake of her life.Compulsive, creepy, and inspired by some of our darkest fairy tales, Little Darlings will have you checking—and rechecking—your own little ones. Just to be sure. Just to be safe.
Publisher: 2019
ISBN: 9781683319986
Branch Call Number: e-book
Characteristics: 1 online resource
Alternative Title: Library2Go

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
i
IAyers
Jul 04, 2019

I enjoyed it! It kept me reading, not sure which way it would go. I liked the ending. It didn’t wrap things up nice and tidy but kept you thinking about it after the book was over.

s
star2014
Jul 02, 2019

I found this novel to be similar to a much better one by author Victor LaValle(The Changeling)
Maybe that was the problem--I was comparing the two books, where there is definitely no comparison. I did not care for the characters in Little Darlings, and alot of the storyline involving the female detective seemed irrelevant. The ending kind of left the reader up in the air. I kept hoping that the rivermother would take the main character's husband for trade :)

l
lindemuldercr
May 25, 2019

Edmonton journal recommended

d
darladoodles
Apr 19, 2019

Rounded up from 3.5. I found this dark, domestic tale to be fascinating in the telling, but the end left me with many unanswered questions. Lauren's character was very well-developed. Her anguish during childbirth, the uncertainty of parenting new babies multiplied by two, the disappointing new dad, and the threat of the dark woman. . . She truly bonds with Riley and Morgan and knows them as her own. The complementary view of Harper, the police sergeant aided in moving the plot along, giving the reader respite from Lauren's melancholy view of the world outside. At the end of it all I found I was disappointed in the development of Harper's character as well as that of Patrick, the husband. The ride to the finish felt rushed and I needed an epilogue or something to tie it all up.

SPPL_TKBTeenChoice Apr 08, 2019

From TKB Teen Vivian: The ambiguity maybe, is the most compelling part of the story. You don't know if Lauren is imagining things or if it really happened. I didn't really like the ending all that much as I couldn't really figure out what was going on but it was still good. FYI: It starts with a description of birth, and does have some disturbing themes, so if you don't like that you shouldn't read it.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at WVML

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top