The Poet X

The Poet X

Downloadable Audiobook - 2018
Average Rating:
Rate this:
7
1
1
"Crackles with energy and snaps with authenticity and voice."--Justina Ireland, author of Dread Nation"An incredibly potent debut."--Jason Reynolds, author of the National Book Award Finalist Ghost"Acevedo has amplified the voices of girls en el barrio who are equal parts goddess, saint, warrior, and hero."--Ibi Zoboi, author of American StreetFans of Jacqueline Woodson, Meg Medina, and Jason Reynolds will fall hard for this astonishing #ownvoices novel-in-verse by an award-winning slam poet, about an Afro-Latina heroine who tells her story with blazing words and powerful truth. Xiomara Batista feels unheard and unable to hide in her Harlem neighborhood. Ever since her body grew into curves, she has learned to let her fists and her fierceness do the talking.But Xiomara has plenty she wants to say, and she pours all her frustration and passion onto the pages of a leather notebook, reciting the words to herself like prayers--especially after she catches feelings for a boy in her bio class named Aman, who her family can never know about. With Mami's determination to force her daughter to obey the laws of the church, Xiomara understands that her thoughts are best kept to herself. So when she is invited to join her school's slam poetry club, she doesn't know how she could ever attend without her mami finding out. But she still can't stop thinking about performing her poems. Because in the face of a world that may not want to hear her, Xiomara refuses to be silent.
Publisher: [New York, NY] :, HarperCollins,, 2018
Edition: Unabridged
ISBN: 9780062822482
0062822489
Branch Call Number: e-audio
Characteristics: 1 online resource (1 sound file (03 hr., 32 min., 50 sec.)) : digital
digital,rda
audio file,rda
Alternative Title: Library2Go

Opinion

From Library Staff

Xiomara Batista feels unheard and unable to hide in her Harlem neighborhood. Ever since her body grew into curves, Xiomara Batista has learned to let her fists and her fierceness do the talking. She pours all her frustration and passion onto the pages of a leather notebook, reciting the words to ... Read More »


From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
Hillsboro_JeanineM Sep 15, 2020

I don't usually listen to audiobooks but this was the recommended format from a colleague. I am so glad that I did so. The language is rich and it's important to get the rhythms and pronunciations as intended. A young woman finds her voice through poetry and poetry slams.

Hillsboro_RobP Jun 25, 2020

A powerful, moving, and at times tough to endure slam-poetry novel by Elizabeth Acevedo, with the author reading (expertly) the audiobook. It's raw, memorable, diverse, and unlike anything else. It follows Xiomara, a Domincan-american girl as she begins to grow apart from her strict catholic household, her twin, and beings to emerge with her own voice.
Don't forget to catch this absolute diamond!

IndyPL_ShannonO Dec 02, 2019

I adored this book when I read it the first time. The second time I listened to the audiobook. The audiobook is read by the author Elizabeth Acevedo. Not every author can pull off reading for their own book's audio, but Acevedo's reading is powerful and moving. Even if you have already read this book, experience it again in audiobook form! You won't regret it!

FPL_Amy Nov 19, 2019

I used to think I just didn't get poetry, but maybe I haven't been reading the right kinds of poetry. I listened to this on audiobook and I recommend the experience. The author narrates and there is so much added feeling to the words because of her performance. I had goosebumps during most of it and even though X and I come from significantly different backgrounds, her words and feelings were so relatable.

IndyPL_KathleenS Apr 30, 2019

This book was excellent! If you get a chance to listen to the audiobook as I did you will not regret it. Written completely in verse, this novel tackles the struggles a young teenage girl faces at school, home, and within herself. A great debut novel by Elizabeth Acevedo.

IndyPL_MeganF Apr 11, 2019

Amazing! This book in verse is beautiful, powerful and full of emotion. I would recommend this book to any teenager finding their voice in this world or anyone who would appreciates the spoken word. Word of advice, listen to it! A book about spoken word needs to be heard.

Hillsboro_ElenaG Aug 29, 2018

This is a powerful novel in verse about a Dominican-American girl learning to assert herself and navigate the complicated family dynamics in her strict Catholic household amidst the usual trials of growing up and being a high school girl. In my opinion, it would be best enjoyed by listening to the audiobook, which is read by the award-winning slam poet author.

Summary

Add a Summary
sjpl_teenhq Aug 21, 2019

Xiomara Batista feels unheard and unable to hide in her Harlem neighborhood. Ever since her body grew into curves, she has learned to let her fists and her fierceness do the talking. But Xiomara has plenty she wants to say, and she pours all her frustration and passion onto the pages of a leather notebook, reciting the words to herself like prayers—especially after she catches feelings for a boy in her bio class named Aman, who her family can never know about. With Mami’s determination to force her daughter to obey the laws of the church, Xiomara understands that her thoughts are best kept to herself. So when she is invited to join her school’s slam poetry club, she doesn’t know how she could ever attend without her mami finding out, much less speak her words out loud. But still, she can’t stop thinking about performing her poems. Because in the face of a world that may not want to hear her, Xiomara refuses to be silent.

Quotes

Add a Quote

"Pero, tú no eres fácil."
You sure ain’t an easy one.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at WVML

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top